Scholarship Manager Header

Scholarship Search

Use the options below to determine your search criteria.
  • Category Search - Scholarships are assigned categories by your school. This option allows you to identify and search the categories that you feel are most relevant to you.
  • Keyword(s) Search - Your school may assign a keyword to a scholarship. This option allows you to search that keyword field.
Click any “Apply Now” button below to complete your scholarship application. If you already completed an application, clicking the “Apply Now” button will redirect your browser and enable you to review your previously submitted application.

NOTE: There is no need to apply for scholarships individually. Completing the Scholarship Application one time each year enables you to be considered for all scholarships available at Northwest Missouri State University.

Your Selections
School of Communication and Mass Media
Do any scholarships need a separate application? ExpandContractImg

Have you or will you file a FAFSA? ExpandContractImg

Scholarships available by department or school. ExpandContractImg

Show all ▼
What type of student will you be next year? ExpandContractImg

What will your class level be next year? ExpandContractImg

Scholarships 17
Bob & Mary Bohlken Scholarship

Recipient shall be classified as a full-time student shall have declared a major in Speech/Theatre Education, and must maintain a GPA of 3.0. If no applicant qualifies, then the award shall be given to a Speech Communication major. Academic achievement and financial need are leading criteria.

Cathran Cushman Scholarship

Given to a student who has contributed significantly to KZLX/KXCV/KRNW. Exhibits broadcast skills and shows academic accomplishment with minimum GPA of 2.50.

Christine Galitz Scholarship in Memory of Gertrude Widmer

Recipients shall be a senior Mass Media: Multimedia Journalism major and shall have a minimum 3.0 GPA within the major.  Recipients shall be on the editorial board of a student publication in the year the award is received.  First preference shall be given to those who served as editor of at least two student publications.  Second preference shall be given to those who served on more than one editorial board.  Recipients shall show financial need including sources of financial support (family, work, grants, loans) and shall submit a 250-500 word essay titled, "Why I Appreciate My Training in the Field of Mass Media from Northwest."


Don Carlile Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior speech communication, public relations or mass communication major with a minimum 3.00 GPA. It is judged on academic performance, participation in journalism activities, financial need, character and service to the university.

Dunlap Scholar Award

Recipient shall be a Tower yearbook student who is on the editorial board and maintains a GPA of at least 2.75. The recipient shall also be assigned a mentor for one year following the award from a list compiled by the Director of Student Publications.

Dustin McCurdy Memorial Scholarship

Preference will be given to a student working at the KZLX radio station, with KXCV radio station given second preference. The recipient shall demonstrate financial need.

Eckert Collegiate Journalism Scholarship

The Eckert Collegiate Journalism Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior mass media major with a minimum 3.00 GPA. This award is based on need, academic accomplishments and journalistic service.

Fred Lamer Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a sophomore, junior or senior mass media major or minor with at least one semester remaining at Northwest. The person must maintain active involvement in KNWT-TV. Preference will be given to the individual demonstrating merit, leadership and involvement in KNWT-TV.

Jake Cavanaugh Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to sophomore or older students with a declared dietetics major and hours completed in the dietetics major courses.

Kevin O'Reilly Scholarship

This scholarship is funded by Kevin O'Reilly, who distinguished himself as a news/feature producer while working with KXCV during his years as a student at Northwest. The award will be made to a student who displays both talent and interest in interviewing, in writing, and in the final production of at least one two-minute news feature per week for each week of the trimester.

Laura Widmer Excellence In Photojournalism Scholarship

Full time sophomore photojournalist. If there are no sophomore photojournalists applying, the best photographer serving the university's newspaper of yearbook staff may be awarded the scholarship.  The recipient must continue to be on the university's newspaper or yearbook staff. The recipient shall be a non-art major and submit their portfolio which may be comprised of photojournalistic photography or video. Video must be photojournalistic in nature and have been produced for use by the university's newspaper or yearbook. Video created for KNWT broadcasts are not eligible.  Please submit required work to the office of the School of Communication and Mass Media.

Parsons-James Bearcat Radio Network Scholarship

Recipient shall be enrolled full-time, classified as a sophomore, junior or senior and shall be pursuing a declared major within the School of Communication and Mass Media.

Pete Schartel Scholarship

Funded by and named for alumni Pete Schartel. This award is given to a student who will serve as lead engineer of the Bearcat Radio network broadcasts. The student has displayed strong leadership, communication and organization skills.

Public Relations Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a public relations major on an annual basis. This scholarship requires that the applicant has completed a minimum or 45 academic hours with a GPA of 3.00 or better. Consideration is given for involvement in PRSSA and/or Lambda Pi Eta. Must show financial need.

Rollie Stadlman & Sharon Bonnett Scholarship

This award applauds the exemplary KXCV/KRNW broadcaster who exhibits leadership, high academic standards in the classroom and professional applications on the air and displays innovative approaches to broadcasting and real passion for the industry. The recipient is chosen from among KXCV/KRNW announcers and news reporters by the KXCV/KRNW professional staff.

Ron C DeYoung Business Scholarship

Awarded to a full time sophomore, junior or senior. One award for students with minimum 3.00 GPA majoring in area of: accounting, finance, marketing, management, international business, mass communications and computer management systems.

T H & Opal Eckert Journalism Scholarship

The T.H. Eckert Journalism Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior mass media major with a minimum 3.00 GPA, based on leadership and contribution to the Northwest Missourian.